Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

KDX 200 VS. 220 Newbie here tryin to make a decis

Hey everyone, well its been awhile since I rode...about 10 years. Just moved to the seattle area and very interested in getting back into it. The last bike I rode was an old yamaha 80 trail bike

I've been doing a lot of research and am pretty sure I've decided on a KDX. I'm about 5'8" and 180 and will mostly be riding trails and possibly some enduro/scrambles as my skills progress. That said, what would you consider to be the pros and cons if considering the 200 vs. 220? I feel I'll advance relatively quickly (hopefully :D ) and I want a good beginner bike but also a bike I can mod relatively easy to increase performance as my skills improve. I'm pretty sure the KDX fits this profile but which one? and from what i"ve said so far... is this a good choice?

Secondly, I've heard these bikes are about as tough as they come as far as reliablity of the engine. Is this the overall opinion of this forum? I'll be the first to admit that my motorcycle mechanic skills are slim to none The kdx website will be of great help I'm sure, but I'm also curious to know if there are any manuals for kdx, something like Chiltons makes for cars, that cover everything? or even some sort of generic 2 stroke manual? Sorry if my lack of knowlege is obvious lol but hey, I gotta start somewhere.

Last of all, I know this topic has been covered in the past, but since I'm here I might as well ask. What would be a good price I could expect to pay out the door for either of these models.

Thanks in advance for the assistance. I can't wait to get out there again! And hey, if anyone is in washington and knows some good riding areas, drop me a line! Thanks again

Ryan

Thanks
    Whichever one you go for I don't think you'll be disappointed. My KDX has excelled in being cheap fun.

Thanks