jayb8008

Mar 15, 2009
Hi everyone, I'm having problems getting my sons 04 pw50 running again. It was running just fine a few months ago, but after sitting a while I can't get it going again. I want to start out by saying that I am a novice when it comes to engine repair and problems, so please bear with me. I have read a few different things to try and have tried them so far.

First thing was spark plug. I pulled it and checked to see if it was getting a spark. It is. I put a brand new one in (proper gap and torque) and tried that and nothing. I also put about 1/4 tsp gas in the head when I removed the plug before replacing it. It started for a split second until the gas burned and then stalled. I pulled the plug again to see if it was wet and getting fuel and it was dry. Not sure what to do about that.

Another thing was bad gas. I can't remember if I put stabilizer in it or not over the winter, but I am pretty sure I did cuz I always do with my R1 and YZ450. I drained the gas anyways and tried to pull the carb to clean it. That is where I am running into a problem. I can get everything off on the carb except the OIL DELIVERY PIPE and that won't let me completely remove the carb to clean it. It looks just like the other black tubing for the gas, but it will not pop off. It has a brass fitting at the end that slides over the tubing, which I can move, but the tubing does not pop off. I am afraid if I try to force it off I will break it. being unable to remove it completely, I tried my best to remove all the gas from the carb and I sprayed it with cleaner. I am not sure how else to drain it so I just turned it in every direction and let the fuel come out. I want to pull it off, but cant get that one tube off. Any suggestions? I want to be able to clean the jets if that's what it is.