inteva6184

Nov 10, 2012
Hey guys I am new to working on dirt bikes and this spark issue is driving me nuts. I bought the bike needing a piston long story but the guy said it was running before he pulled the cylinder jug. So I put it all back together and now no spark. I installed a new coil and still no spark. I then did a continuity test on the ignition switch. It has a 6 wire connector and two other wires. I checked every one in all three switch positions. The only one two wires that showed continuity were two black ones. I am lead to believe I may have a switch issue and would love to just jump wires to know if its the issue but I have no idea where to start? So any info on that would be great and I any other info on testing the ignition system would be great too. I am a little confused on testing the magneto and filing points. So any info you guys can provide would be great. Thanks

inteva6184

Nov 10, 2012
Here is a quick update I read if you check voltage on the 4 wires coming out of the magneto and they show voltage when you crank you shouldnt have an issue. I saw .2-.6 volts coming out so they seem to be working I guess? But upon following where the wires go they all go to my ignition switch that doesnt seem to get continuity through most of the wires so is there anything I can jump to take the switch out of the equation?

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999