MrkCottingham

Aug 19, 2005
I need some help with an 01 cr125 that I have just purchased for my son yesterday. We took it out for about 30 minutes and it was running great then it just died like you lost spark. I checked the plug and tried a couple new ones with no luck so we loaded up and headed home. I pulled the plug and checked for spark and didn't have any at first then it came back, screwed plug in and it fired off and died almost instantly. Checked for fire again and it has spark, unplugged the kill switch to eliminate an intermittent problem. The plug is we when kicking the heck out of it and it tries to start every thirty or so kicks???? Checked compression and it is around 130psi so I believe it should run but I'm stumped. I'm running a 40:1 ratio of AMSoil which is what the guy previously ran. Any help would be appreciated since tommorow is the son's B'day and he is dying to ride. Thanks and I am a newbie with some experience working on the 2 strokes. Definetly eager to learn more. I'm pondering if the spark could be weak or timing maybe off?? Please help.
Thanks!
Mark

MrkCottingham

Aug 19, 2005
looks like I may have an intermittent spark, I don't have a manual yet but do have an 87 manual to relate to. The exciter reads about 250ohms and the coil reads near zero on the primary and 11k on the secondary. Not sure what I should read on the two wires going to the altenator coil. Any comments will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark

MrkCottingham

Aug 19, 2005
checked for loose flywheel and stator and they are tight. The spark is there intermittently and not present most of the time? Thanks. Praying it isn't the CDI!

Mark,

+30

Aug 2, 2005
cr misfire