argclh6670

Jan 27, 2013
Hey people, I'm a noob to this site. I just came by a kdx 250 for my kid. As his skill developes, I'd like to mod it up for him. Presently its jetted pretty clean, I more concerned with suspension mods at the time as he's a bigger kid and he's always pushing it in the woods. Any n all suggestions appreciated. Kx fork swap n such. All the posts I read are saying premix. At 40 or 50/1. I's there a downfall to running at 32:1.
)
I have a complete frontend off a 96kx250 that I'm sure I can make work. Anybody else have input from their personal experiences?

Last edited:

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
I really enjoyed my '91, after getting it set up right.

The bike was not dialed in well from the factory. The jetting and the forks are the biggest problem areas, but there are lots of other tips and tricks.

Use the search feature and look for some old threads by blackduc748 Some of his old posts had detailed answers to the same questions you are asking.

Oh, and no downside to running 32:1 except for spending more money on oil.

jeffcooper

Nov 21, 2007
Definately swap those forks - the difference to the bike after is like night and day, and in my case the bike just felt better all through - even the power felt better because I was riding more confidently. However, I've now fitted the engine to a 95 KX250 frame (but used the 18" rear wheel from the KDX) and to be honest, it's like you suddenly gain about 100% in rider ability - in fact I now spend time thinking how bad I could have hurt myself if the old, extremely heavy bike had landed on me !!

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000