a little help with riding the mud please

sharky243

Dec 14, 2008
Ok here it goes, I am a 31 yearold moto-x racer just recently back to racing after a 6 year absents do to some injuries that took their time to heal (lol). With all this rain we've been getting around here lately, it looks like i'll be doing some racing in the mud. I hate mud ! This past wknd, i couldn't even do one lap for practice because it was so hard (for me) to ride the mud. Does anyone have some tips that may help me learn to ride the mud better ? what is the secret trick that all you pro's use to make it look so easy ?

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
I am no pro, but the mud can be fun! Nice sharp well spaced knobby tires a must, always keep 15 pounds of air in them. Suspension race sag the same as normal. I like the front end light, try to keep from falling, hold your self up if you have to. NEVER stare at ruts, look ahead, further if needed. Careful throttle control to keep it between spinning and traction. Remember its fun! Vintage Bob

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
Aim for the spectators...they're ususally standing on dry land. :)

When the front end wanders on you, don't fight it...follow it (unless it is taking you off the track).

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
High Lord Gomer said:
When the front end wanders on you, don't fight it...follow it (unless it is taking you off the track).

Gotta agree with Gomer. :nod: Let the bike FLOAT under you. Like Gomer said, don't fight it. Keep it pointed in the general direction and let it move around under you. If you stiffen up and grip too tight it will only make it worse. Stay loose and use your knees to move the bike in the direction you want to go.

Rooster

Today's Tom Sawyer
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 24, 2000