Convincing parents to allow me to get a streetbike

Blinkme7182

Sep 30, 2000
This upcoming february, i will be turning 16, and getting my permit, and 4 months after that, my license. Anyway, I'm almost positive I'm going to sell my dirtbike, as the neighbors called the cops on us for riding like a 1/4 mile up a street to get to the trails, when we went slow, kept the engines low-revving, etc, and the fact that the DEP is crawling all over the forest, and I'm sick of fearing what's around each corner. Anyway, I want to keep my passion of motorcycling and fast acceleration/racing a live, even if I can't do it on a dirtbike. I've been lookin around at bikes, and I really like the 97 Or newer Yamaha YZF600 or Honda CBR600F4i...For under $5000...Anyway, now I have to convince my parents to let me have a bike!! I've told them that since I've been riding dirtbikes for 2 years, I've had 2 years of motorcycle experience, and that is safer than having little car-experience. I've told them that in the woods it is very dangerous, because if you hit a rock coverred in leaves at 6th gear pinned (around 65 mph,) when you land, you land on ROCKS, sharp, jagged rocks. I've used hypocricy, as my dad had a 300 cc motorcycle during highschool. What should I use next? My mom doesn't like the idea at all of a motorcycle, she thinks they are excessively dangerous, so therefore, I'd be paying for the bike myself, and the insurance, even though my sisters had to do neither when they were driving, because she doesn't want me getting a bike, and she thinks the money will set me back too far...and it probably will, but we won't let them know that..;) Anyway, are there any sights that do tests on the fast streetbikes like a YZF600? I want toknow how fast they go a) 0-60, and b) from 60 mph to 0 mph, in feet, because my paren'ts don't think they stop fast enough, and their main concern is that it's usually cars that cause the accidents with motorcycles. So, what I'm asking all of you for is hel