Skydiver

Jan 2, 2015
I have been lurking on some of the dirt bike forums and thinking about getting my first dirt bike. I am 45 years old, 6'00" tall, 200 pounds, 34" inseam. I am a pretty active guy, I run and lift weights several times a week, mountain bike and skydive.

As for riding experience I have none on dirt bikes. I have a lot of experience on Harley's and choppers. I have graduated from the Police Motor Officer course at work (104 hours on a Police Road King very technical riding) and currently ride and wrench a chopper. Not sure how much that experience will transfer to off road, although I have done a trail ride in sugar sand on a fully dressed Police Road King and ridden up and down curbs and stairs. lol.

I will probably start out trail riding but I think it would really be fun to be able to gain the experience to ride a moto cross track on practice days, doubt I would ever actually race though.

I have no brand preference but I was thinking a used 250 four stroke in around the $2K price range? Thoughts suggestions appreciated.

XRpredator

AssClown SuperPowers
Damn Yankees
Aug 2, 2000
Most any 250cc 4-stroke MXer would be a good place to start, but that's probably the highest maintenance machine out there. If you don't mind doing a lot of upgrading over the years, and at your size, I'd start with a nice, 96 or newer XR250. Air cooled, ride it and forget it. If you don't think that's enough machine, get an XR400 or a slightly more technologically advanced DRZ400. There's a lot of both out there and a big aftermarket. Then, once you've surpassed their limitations, pick your favorite color regarding the 450cc machines.