upstateny

Mar 16, 2009
Hello,

I'm looking for ideas on the best set up for a Flat Trailer for 2 or 3 bikes. I'll end up having to put one on backwards (middle bike) which is fine with me.

But should I take the time to build rails for the trailer or just use chocks?

Any ideas on a trailer like this would be great!!

Thanks Rob.

Oh and I did search and saw lots of good ideas. Just maybe someone has some fresh ideas.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
I'm confused - do you already have the trailer and just want to know the best way to haul bikes, or do you have no trailer and are starting from scratch?

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
I've seen tilt bed trailers at Home Depot / Lowes that seem like they would work well for bikes AND misc chores.

upstateny

Mar 16, 2009
Sorry for the confusion. I didnt state myself clearly.

I have a Trailer, and I'm looking for the best way to arrange it for 2 or 3 bikes. I am a very capable welder/fabricator and have no problems modifying what I have to make it work better.

I would like it to be somewhat easy to convert back to just a "utility" trailer to move ATV's etc on.

Thanks

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Well it sort of depends on the size of the trialer as to what might or might not work.

upstateny

Mar 16, 2009
It Currently is 4x8, But I dont see any reason that with the current construction why I couldnt add 6" on each side to make it 5'x8' and more "comfortable" for 3 bikes.

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
I had a tilt bed 5x8 that had a very simple outer rail welded on about 10" above the deck height. The trailer gate was mesh and dropped level with the deck when in the non tilted position and served as the ramp when the trailer was tilted.

Very similar to this but the gate was a lot shorter on mine.

5%20x%208%20Utility%20$875.00.jpg