pumphog

Feb 12, 2010
I am a brokedown, woreout old dirt rider that's on the comeback trail. I am 58 years old tomorrow and feel every bit of it. I have had two total knee replacements done on my left knee in the last 2 years and had my L4 and L5 vertebrae fuzed to my tailbone about six weeks ago. Also had both hands operated on for carpal tunnel about ten years ago. their doing great. The doc says if I will give it time and do the therapy that I could go back to riding enduro's of which I have been riding for almost 40 years.

My first dirt bike was a brand new 125 Penton back in 66 or 67, Can't remember which year was the first year for them. Leroy Winters got three of bikes from John Penton from the very first shipment . Leroy got one, his son Mike got one and I got the other. I grew up around Leroy's shop in Ft. Smith Ar and learned a lot from Leroy. Smoothest rider I ever saw ride a motorcycle.

I have owned right at forty off road racers in my long rider career and have had a ball doing it. I put on my first cross country race when I was sixteen, met with the Forest service, laid out the route and bought the trophies. I was in on the start of the Black Jack Enduro Circuit almost 30 years ago and a member of the Razorback Riders of Fayetteville Ar. Our club has held th White Rock Mt. Enduro for the past 35 years with the 36th edition coming up March 21st. We also have the ISDT Reunion Ride coming back to our club property this coming Oct. where it started almost ten years ago.

Ok, now for the comeback, I am always been interested in Vintage Racing but never stuck my foot in but with all the interest and just seeing all the old bikes that people have restored on all the websites I am itching to find a project that I can get started on. That's the reason I joined this website, from what I've read so far there are hundreds of guys on here with tons of knowledge that can help me go down the right path. I am really looking forward to visiting with some of you.