rpmchev

Feb 27, 2004
Forgive me, I am new to 2-Stroke engines. I recently received a 96 RM 125 in partial trade for a street bike. The engine had just been completely rebuilt and wasn't even broke in yet. I properly broke the engine in and began enjoying a few rides. During one excessively long ride I got lost and ran out of gas near a highway. I walked down the highway a couple of miles with my bike and found a gas station. I dicided that I could mix some gas station 2-stroke oil (stupid,stupid) in my tank and ride back to my truck. Well, Immediately after pulling out of the gas station my plug fouled. I pulled the plug, cleaned it, put it back in, and forced the plug to work. A little choppy at first, the bike began to run strong. I pulled over one hill and began climbing a second when my engine started running sluggish and sputtering. I let the engine die and then pulled the kick start out. As I began putting weight on the kickstarter I was met with extreme resistance. assuming I had seized the engine, I spent the rest of the day trying to walk back to my truck. Anyways, long story short, I got the bike home, and pulled the engine. I put some 2 stroke oil on the piston to allow it to move. Suprisingly it moved relatively easy and began compressing as normal. I did a fairly good inspection of the piston and cylinder, and could not find any visual damage. i then reassembled the engine, bike, and kicked the engine over. The engine runs, but very rough, some slight knocking noises. Is it possible I assembled the exhaust or carb, etc., etc. wrong? Do I need to rebuild the engine again? can I get away with just a top end rebuild?

I know that nobody can be certain, but any general advice would be greatly appreciated. This is my first 2-Stroke. I dont know much about them, but i have good mechanical knowledge.

B

biglou