Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
KDX200VS KDX220
Written By: MnKDX'er (Joe Berscheid)

Welcome to the 200 vs. 220 KDX Show Down. This is a comparison between the two bikes in both stock and modified. With this article, I hope to share my own experiences with these two bikes, and help you decide which bike is the best choice for you.

I have either personally owned the described bike as equipped, or have ridden that particular set-up for long enough to collect a lasting impression. For your reference, I am a middle-of-the-pack Vet A tight-woods rider, 5'-11" and 180#.

At The Dealer

The retail price is higher for the 220. For this higher price, you basically get an o-ring chain, and a larger bore engine. All other transmission, chassis, and suspension features are the same. The following is part of the Kawasaki spec sheet with differences highlighted in blue.

Kawasaki KDX 200

1. Engine: type2-stroke single cylinder2-stroke single cylinder
  2. Displacement: 198cc
  3. Bore x Stroke: 66.0 x 58.0 mm
  4. Compression ratio: 7.9:1 (high speed) 9.4:1 (low speed)
  5. Carburetion: Keihin PWK35
  6. Induction: 6-petal reed valve
  7. Final Drive: Standard non O-Ring Chain
  8. Transmission: 6-speed
  9. Wheel travel Front: 11.4 in.
  10. Wheel Travel Rear: 11.8 in
  11. Ground Clearance: 13.4 in.
  12. Seat height: 36.2 in
  13. Dry weight:: 222.6 lbs.
  14. Fuel capacity: 2.9 gals
  15. MSRP Price: $3999

Kawasaki KDX 220

1. Engine Type: 2-stroke single cylinder
  2. Displacement: 216cc
  3. Bore x Stroke: 69.0 x 58.0mm
  4. Compression Ratio: 7.2:1 (high speed) 9.3:1 (low speed)
  5. Carburetion: Keihin: Keihin PWK33
  6. Induction: 6-petal reed valve
  7. Final Drive: O-Ring Chain
  8. Transmission: 6-speed
  9. Wheel Travel Front: 11.4 in.
  10. Wheel Travel Rear: 11.8 in
  11. Ground clearance: 13.4 in.
  12. Seat height: 36.2 in
  13. Dry weight:: 222.6 lbs.
  14. Fuel capacity: 2.9 gals
  15. MSRP Price: $4349

You Want To Race?