KTM 125 SX... good beginner bike?

NukEmAll

Mar 11, 2001
Hi, I am 15, am about 5"11 and weigh 155lbs. Would a KTM 125 SX be a good beginner bike for me? I have little experience in riding. I will mostly be casually riding with friends and do some trailing. Please give me your impressions on the bike. Does it have good low-end power?

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000
The 125sx is the most powerful 125 aroundand unless you are experienced it wont make a good beginner bike im afraid.Its suspension will also be harsh for you.A better bike would be a 125exc or 125mxc or consider the 200exc.

NukEmAll

Mar 11, 2001
I was going to get a 200 M/XC but none of the dealers could find one. The dealer told us that he would configure the bike for me if I decided to take it. He also cut 1,000 bucks off the retail price of the 125 SX since he could not find a 200 M/XC. Does KTM make a 125 M/XC? I do not see it on their web-site. He is also going to add a large fuel tank for me. It is one heck of a deal.

firecracker22

Sponsoring Member
Oct 23, 2000
If it's a 125 you want, the 2000 YZwas supposed to be the smoothest 125 with the most bottom end. I have ridden a 01 RM 125 and thought it was great! Very fun to ride—light and responsive. I ride a 200 EXC and cannot say enough good things about the bike. Very nice.

Marcusgunby, they don’t import a 125 M/XC here—only the 125 E/XC and 200 enduro and offroad bikes. Do they offer one over there?

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
Hey Nuke,
I love my 125sx...but it has NO bottom. It wants to go fast and faster.
My son has a yz125...his first full frame bike, and it has gr8 low end. He is much more confident on his bike than on mine. Both my boys learned on 4 stroke xr's.

Buckholz

Mar 15, 2000
No doubt about it. Buy a KDX200. Greatest beginner/all around bike for everybody. It helped me become a good rider.

A 125 or 250 could be your second bike when you graduate HS.

NukEmAll

Mar 11, 2001