spenco

Apr 26, 2006
I'm new to riding. It's been 20 years since I've been on a bike. Back then I had an XR200 that I rode to death. It always cranked easy with just 1 or 2 kicks. The KX is really hard to crank if it ever stalls on me. It's not bad when it's cold and I choke it or when I shut it off intentionally. But if it stalls and dies it takes an act of congress to get it started again. I follow the recommended procedure for cranking it but it just wears me out kicking on it. People tell me that's just the way the new 4-strokes are but I can't believe that. I need help before my leg falls off.

AnTs

Uhhh...
Nov 5, 2005
Try to put it at TDC ( top dead center ) put the hot start on, then kick it. Should start. Also check the plug because i had a yz250f and it fouled alot of plugs and was a pain to start. But then i got a cr250 and its a breeze to start :)

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Someone said:
Welcome to 4S technology. Fix the problem and you'll be a rich man. :)

Yep - 4 stroke MX bikes are not trail bikes like XR's. If you wanted easy starting you should have got a 2 stroke or a trail bike.

Many times even the pros have trouble getting theirs to start when they have a crash.

xLastShotx

Aug 9, 2005
yeah i have an 2004 kx250f and it is almost impossible to kick start it once its been warmed up already i usually get very tired out and end up push starting it. I guess thats just how they are. I had a mechanic go over the whole bike becuase I thought somthing was rong, but he said it was 100% fine.

nikki

Moto Junkie
Apr 21, 2000
spenco - whenever a 4-stroke MX bike gets hard to start, the first thing you should do is check the valve clearances. If you have a manual, it is pretty easy to do, takes about 30 minutes (maybe up to an hour for your first time).