New to dirt biking, what bike should I buy?

ghaash

Jun 13, 2002
I am new to dirt biking, I am 18 years old, 5'8" and 140lbs, and I live in Arizona. My experience with dirt bikes is zero, so I am a complete newbie.

What bike should I get?

New or used bike?

Should I take the MSF dirt bike course?

I think I am mostly going to be doing trail riding...

Is the Rolls OHV area still open?

And is it a good time to get a dirt bike, because many trail areas are being shut down due to the lack of rain and the chances of fires starting.

What gear should I get, and will goggles fit over my glasses? When I fall down I want to get back up!

Getting my dirt bike to trail, do I need a trailer or can I fit a bike in the back of my mom's Toyota Highlander? There is a bike rack on the top of the car, could I tie the dirt bike to that? Or should I bum a ride off somebody else?

It is a mouthful, but I figured it would be better to get all my questions in one post.

Daniel Silverman

Last edited:

YZ Joust

Master of Jackassery
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 21, 2002
New or used bike?
New if you have the money.

Should I take the MSF dirt bike course?
You will learn pretty quick once you start riding. I wouldn't take a course unless you are planning on racing.

What gear should I get, and will goggles fit over my glasses? When I fall down I want to get back up!
Get the gear that you like best, your goggles should fit over your glasses. If not you can get prescription goggles

Getting my dirt bike to trail, do I need a trailer or can I fit a bike in the back of my mom's Toyota Highlander? Or should I bum a ride off somebody else?
Versa-Hauler makes a bike rack that will fit on the back of the Highlander. I have one for my Tahoe and it works great....

Hope this helps..... :cool:

Glitch

~SPONSOR~
Dec 3, 2001
The gear that you should get should definitely be a dirtbike helmet and dirtibike boots to begin with. Then chest protector, and if you have the money, knee braces.