Noob who could use a little help choosing a bike

JonKerr

Apr 6, 2009
OK guys. I'm getting into riding dirt bikes and need some help. I've been learning the basics of how to ride on a friends bike but I'm planning on getting a bike of my own in 3-4 months. (once the car is paid off ;) ) I have a lot of friends who ride and according to everyone of them, the bike they ride is the best thing for me. :whoa: :bang: I'm not really looking for a brand here as much as I'm looking to find out what type of bike should I get.

Here's a little info about me.
-I'm a good sized guy. 5' 10" 230 lbs (right now. working on trying to drop another 30 lbs. Have lost 45 total.) I'm 30 years old and I've only riden twice so far.

-I'm just learning to ride a motorcycle so I'm not going to be aggressive. And I don't really plan on ever being extremely aggresive.

-I'm planning on riding a bit of everything. I'm in San Diego so we really have everything around here. MX tracks, desert riding (sand and hard pack) some trail riding, etc...

-I may race casually once I really learn how to ride but I won't really be out there to get serious. Just race for fun.

-I'm not completely clueless when it comes to 2 weels. I ride mountain bikes and race BMX. So I have a little bike skill. But I've learned that riding a dirt bike is very different than a regular bike.

-I do plan on doing most of my own work on the bike. And the work I don't know how to do (yet) I have a number of friends and family who can help me out and teach me what I need to know.

-Locally we have dealers who cary just about every brand you can imagine and like I mentioned, I don't really have a favorite.

-The bike I'm learning to ride on is a friends 2005 CRF450.