DieselTech

Always breakin' something
~SPONSOR~
Jan 21, 2007
Hello all,

These questions are presented mainly for someone knowledgable, like Rich or Eric, in the specific modification or repair.

I am interested in learning how to do such things as cylinder/head porting, crank rebuilding, port-matching of pistons, etc. I'm considering attending some machinist courses at the local college - I think that would be a good start for the "basics" of machining (which I have no experience in). I'm also interested in custom fabrication/modification, be it frames, engines, etc. - I really have very little experience here as well, though I do all my own maintenance and repairs to my own vehicles, including my quads, MX bikes, truck, etc. I have done some engine work (i.e., I just installed a new head and cams on my son's KXF250, and I recently disassembled a Banshee motor due to a fragged crank bearing) and some other stuff like fork seals & oil. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade, so I have a pretty good mechanical background.

Where can I get specific information or training on these types of things - specifically: porting, crank repair/rebuilding, and custom fabrication? Is this something that a person generally learns by just doing it (and experimenting & making mistakes)? What types of tooling is needed to do these things? I obviously don't have my own machine shop - and I don't think that I can afford to invest in high dollar equipment like that just to pursue a hobby. I'm not necessarily interested in doing this as a change in employment, more due to personal satisfaction (I like to do as much of the work to my stuff myself as I can, and I'm a naturally-curious type of person - I like to learn).