whats your diagnosis based on these pics?

tank_tech

Jan 2, 2010
whats your diagnosis based on these pics? NEW DETAILS!

so i started rippin apart the bike i bought this winter(rml85), i knew the motor was toast when i bought it, but i wasnt sure what it was. now that snowmobilingi s over and ive had some time to wrench on the bike i think its a little worse then i anticipated. i took some pics for you to look at and tell me what you think, sorry about the quality, but if you squint your eyes, and turn your head you can... the cylinder is scored right over the exhaust valves, with one gouge thats noticeably deeper then the rest. there was also a bit of scoring on the intake side as well(maybe 3/8" wide). what do you think caused this? what do you guys think needs to be done to fix it?

to me it it looks like ill obviously need new piston and rings, and either the cylinder bored/honed, or re sleeved. i dont know for sure, because im new to all this, but i think these suzuki motors just need to be resleeved if you cant hone it out? there it one gouge that's noticeably deeper then the rest of the scoring. what do i need to do?

Attachments

• wreckedpiston1.jpg
    wreckedpiston1.jpg
    23.9 KB · Views: 348
Last edited:

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
You might as well box it all up and send it to Eric Gorr..

I believe that's a plated cylinder, so it's going to need to be replated.. And while you're at it, you might as well have him do his magic on the ports.

I'm no expert, but I'd guess it was run pretty lean.

Something got that exhaust port awful hot.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
Detonation killed that engine, that is the exhaust side missing? Some ruff pics is an understatement! What Indy said, and rebuild the bottom end also. Ask if Eric can get you a good deal on a complete engine kit, and send the piston with the top end. Vintage Bob

jayhedrick

~SPONSOR~
Mar 10, 2009