GoOYdOo

May 27, 2008
Hey guys im new to dirtbikes...i just bought a 2000 RM250 saturday for $1200,i drove it and it went through the gears fine the 5-6 times that i went through them all.I get the bike home and i went trail riding yesterday,and the bike wouldnt shift from 2nd to 3rd,then,it wouldnt leave 2nd into first,and then it wouldnt shift at all when i got it into neutral.I took out the drain plug and i saw one small chunk of metal,and it appears to me to be a tooth.No matter if i move the wheel or hold in the clutch,i can only go from neutral to 2nd,and from 2nd to third,but as soon as i move the wheel,it pops back to 2nd,cant get to any of the other gears.Any help would be appreciated.

destructo

Feb 24, 2006
The suzuki two strokes are notorious for weak trannies, almost everyone I know that has owned one has had problems, shift forks mostly and weak clutches prone to slipping.

GoObYdOo

Jun 15, 2006
well i got the shifter free'd up and all,and the guy thats been helping me wanted to see if it made any noises,so we put it back together and when it sits in neutral,its making a clicking noise in the transmission,obviously from where that tooth was broken off,and i was hoping before i took this thing apart if someone would know which gears specifically to look at when its clicking in neutral so i have a better idea where to go to first.Thanks!

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
You keep spinning it with broke parts in there, and the guy at the parts counter is loving every minute of that. It never dawned on you that you could be making something worse?

GoObYdOo

Jun 15, 2006