monkeyonahill

Aug 12, 2006
Hey guys, i just need some input (sorry if some of these questions sound stupid, im kind of new to modding the internals), my piston detenated just this last weekend, piston is screwed and the cylinder wall has a few scratchs + scor marks on it so im thinking about boring it out, i guess ehre are my questions:
1. How much would i have to bore the cylinder for a 56mm piston (.080 over)

2. Are there any advantages to long rod kits?

3. Should i get cc domes on the cyl. head?

4. What other mods would i benefit from? (im goin to be riding mainly tracks + some dunes)

thanks in advance!

Dec 11, 2004
that bike cant bore very much do to the exhaust port thickness. eric gorr tried many things for that back when it was newer and I also rode one, sorry to say its just slow. if you want my specs let me know. i wouldnt waste money on major engine mods on a 125 for dune riding cause they aint made for it. keep it stock and you wont have engine probs like a mod would. but thats me. you wont gain much power with all the money you would spend on it.

monkeyonahill

Aug 12, 2006
im not going to be duning very much anymore, after what it did to my engine... haha, plus the 125 just doesn't have the power for super soft sand that we have. I'd love to hear the specs of ur cr, so if i bore it out to 144 i'll have problems with the exhaust port? =\

im going to be riding like 98% dirt after i redo my engine, and maybe some racing, basically i just want it to stand a chance against those 250f's. right now w/ pipes, filter, and other bolt-ons i got almost no chance. i dont want to risk ruining it again, that sand can hurt 'em bad if u get sand through your carb... no fun..

Dec 11, 2004