duke

Oct 9, 1999
This could be classified in the MX section as well, but here goes. A friend of mine who is a very fast rider for 50, claims that a 125 is actually a more suitable mount for many 40 plus riders. His reasoning is based on the fact that most todays 125's offer easier to use power bands then those of days long ago. Plus, their lighter weight means less energy expenditure. He races a CR125 nad does well agaisnt even 40 year old riders. What are the opinions of the members? I might return to local senior level racing next year and the thought of racing a 125 is entertaining. I dont have the funds for a YZ250F and the like, so those arent viable solutions. Were I to ride a 125, it would have to be a REAL 125.

GoesTo11

Aug 21, 2000
When I started riding again a couple of years ago (after a 22 year layoff,) I bought a 250. After about three weeks, I bought a 125 and am still racing it. This season, I raced an RM with an Eric Gorr 144 kit. It is much better than even the 125. (Kind of a perfect step between the 125 and 250.)

However, recently, I have been getting blown away on loamy stretches by the 450F's and the KTM 4 strokes; and have been thinking about buying a 450F. But , I agree with your friend, the 125 (or a 144) is a good bike to race in the class, definitely for the first season.

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 24, 2000
i say if you want to be a contender, forget about the 125. i race a 250 two-stroke in the 40+ class and i'm getting pulled on the starts and straightaways. as much as i don't want to go to a big four-stroke, it looks like i'll have to in order to remain competitive. i don't recall ever being beaten by a 125.

jmics19067

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 22, 2002