Jan 26, 2009
Hey all, i got a few questions i could not find in the search
I am brand new to bikes and just got a 1986 CR125 given to me.
It has been sitting for 2 years but runs great, i want to change most of the fluids and what not but i cant find any information on what weights or anything like that. also from what year to what year did honda use the engine that is on the 86 CR125?

Does this thing have tranny fluid and gear oil? (i have been told it shares the same motor gear oil but i donno)
What are the recommended weights / brands? I live in Yuma AZ (very hot here)

Or is there a site or thread i can use to get all the info i need for maintenance ?

Thanks =) this looks to be a great site like honda-tech for my honda civic.

SMMWest

Mod Ban
Dec 7, 2008
I just completely rebuilt from the ground up a 1985 Honda CR125 and used to own and race a 1988 Honda CR125.

Honda used basically the same Design on the 1985 and 1986 Honda CR125 and a lot of the parts are interchangable.

Besides changing all the fluids you should check the Steering Stem bearings, the Wheel Bearings, the Linkage and also check the Shock Mounts (for cracks).

I use Maxima Super M at 32:1 mixed with my Gas. I use Maxima MTL-75wt Gear Box Oil in the Tranny (regardless of what people tell you, Do Not, I repeat Do Not use Car Oil or Transmission Fluid in your Gear Box). I use Peak Antifreeze for the Radiator.

If you don't want to use Maxima Brand Oils I would go with Bel-Ray MC-1 for your Pre-Mix and Bel-Ray Gear Saver SAE 75 for your Tranny.

Good Luck with your 1986 Honda CR125. They are great bikes, and if you need any recommendations as far as Hop-Up Mods let me know. These bikes can be made to rip. I am racing mine in the 250cc 4-Stroke Class in Motocross and am going to even start doing some Enduros as soon as I send my Forks off to Too Tech to be set up.

lake

Oct 30, 2008