skarpenz

Feb 3, 2008
I just picked up a 88 CR250 and its having a few problems. It won't kick start when the bike is cold, I have to pull it behind the truck and then it will run OK. It will kick off when its warmed up but it leaks fuel from the carb I think and drips from the bottom of the bike. It also will not idle on its own, it will just die. The motor was rebuilt by my friend a year or two ago and I think the carb needs to be rebuilt. Anyone know where to get a rebuild kit for the carb? Thanks for any help guys!

Tom

zaneyzrex

Jan 9, 2007
ya need to do a compression test to start with and go thru the carb and make sure its clean and the floats are set right and needle/seat are in good shape. pilot jet the right size ? too small ? float height right ? (to little gas) air screw set correctly ?

Last edited:

skarpenz

Feb 3, 2008
I'm sure its not TOO LITTLE gas man, its drooling from the bottom of the bike. This is my first time working on a 2 stroke anything so bear with me, lol.

BigRedAF

Jan 9, 2005
It's dripping because the float isn't floating or the needle and seat isn't sealing. Put your float in a bowl of gas over night and see if it's still floating in the morning. If so replace your needle, that bike has a rubber tip on the needle that gets hard and wont shut off the fuel flow, it's 20 years old.

Get your parts from the Honda dealer. They of course won't have what you need but they can order it.

Try Service Honda's mail order system, it's cheap and just as fast as your dealer.

skarpenz

Feb 3, 2008
I took out the spark plug and put in a new one today and it kicked right off, first try. The old one is fouled out pretty bad. My friend said he was running 42:1 mix in it, I have heard to run 32:1 mixture for the gas. What should I be running?

BigRedAF

Jan 9, 2005
If your lazy, not a bad thing...