thedrknows

Dec 21, 2009
I am looking at buying my first dirt bike. I am a beginner rider on dirt bikes, but have plenty experience street riding (2007 Triumph 675). I will be using the bike for trail/river bed riding in Alaska and possible dune riding after moving to AZ. I want a bike that will do fine in both situations. I don't want something that will leave me wanting more on either terrain. I am aware of the maintenance costs between the 2 stroke vs 4 stroke. I am strickly wondering about which bike will suite me the best. I am 6', 150lbs. Here are the descriptions of what I am looking at:

2006 YZ450f Purchased New from dealer in 2007 ( four stroke)
2 hours ride time, might has well be brand new. 1500 dollars worth of extras- Black on Black Pro Series Rims with new tread. Black and White Plastic- Have to Sell, Painful Price 2,500 dollars.

1992 KDX 200 that has been taken good care of. It was completely rebuilt from the frame up. Wiseco piston, FMF fatty pipe, Boyesen reeds, Dirt Digger Clutch, KX forks, KX fenders and number plate, Renthal sprokets, matching green o-ring chain. Frame was sandblasted and painted gloss black. New handle bars, hand grips, and clutch cable. With all the above upgrades the bike only has maybe three hours on it. Asking $1800

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009
1) You couldnt have picked 2 bikes that are more different. The KDX is a mild mannered trail bike and the YZ is a very powerful motocross bike. A YZ450F is not a beginners bike..not even sort of....especially at your weight.
2) The KDX is waaaayy overpriced. You can buy a 2001-2002 for that amount of money.
3) Never believe a seller when they tell you a bike has X amount of hours. How many sellers do you think represent their bikes with 100% honesty?

My advise would be to do some research about bikes before you make a decision. Spend some time searching this site. Educating yourself will go a long way.

thedrknows

Dec 21, 2009