nproud

Jul 30, 2012
hello everyone, i baught a 95 xr200r not to long ago it seems to work good except for the fact that it leaks oils from the middle of the crank casing and smokes like a chimney when it runs after a few seconds. i took the crank case cover off as i was planning on taking the motor out but lack the tools. the crank case gasket was toast and came off in peices. could this cause an oil leak problem? im new to bikes but have a service manual for guide me, i also drained the oil and refilled it incase it was overfull but still she smokes, and also has a small drip leak from the draining gasket. any ideas? oh i also checked the spark plug and shes oily aswell. i just done have the coin to take it in and get fixed up any thought are appreciated, thanks

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
The smoking is most likely caused by worn or broken piston rings or worn valve guides or both. Pull the head and cylinder and measure everything. The specs will be in your service manual. Your local dealer or machine shop can measure the parts for you if you don't have the tools. The oil leak between the cases is probably a bad gasket. Get a new gasket.

nproud

Jul 30, 2012
the guy i got it from said he had a new piston a rings done last summer and hadn't ridden it more than 5-6 times since done. it also doesn't seem to leak from the motor itself but dripping off one of the bolts, that's probably from a bad gasket?

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000