2 Stroke and 4 Stroke Jetting

bueller416

Jan 30, 2005
I would like to know if someone could explain this to me. On a 2 stroke when you modify the exhaust and air box, you need to go leaner on the jetting. On a 4 stroke it is just the opposite, you need to go richer on the jetting.

Idaho Charley

Jul 20, 2000
When you "open up" a restrictive air box on a 2 -cycle or 4-cycle you are letting more air into the carborator. In both cases you need to jet richer: provided you really letting more air in. i.e. some air boxs are fine as they come from the factory.

Rhodester

May 17, 2003
bueller416, you are correct. I'm no engineer, but from my experience in most cases that is right. 4-strokes use the scavenging effect of the exhaust to help pull in the intake charge into the combustion chamber. That's why the intake valve is starting to open before the exhaust valve is closed. If you increase the pulling effect of the exhaust (gases in motion want to stay in motion...creating the 'pull') then a richer charge may be required. It leans out the mixture (or at least has that effect).