2 stroke help in Iraq (no fuel in cylinders i think)

Crazee Eyez

Jun 12, 2009
Okay... First post... here's the deal I'm a contractor working in Iraq (retired Marine) and I got my hands on a 350 Jawa made in Checkolsovakia (left side kick start, oil injected, twin cylinder stripped down to bare essentials plus head and tail light by a former owner) to ride around on base and to and from work. The Grey Ghost ran well for about two months but two weeks ago went down hard and I'm spinning my wheels here. As you can guess parts are a bit hard to come by as is expertise... hence the post. Anyway, she started to flood out pretty bad but I was usually able to let it sit and then get it running. However, (flooded so bad the air cleaner was full of fuel) after that failed I pulled the carb and removed the bowl thinking the float was stuck (not the case). Upon reinstallation the bike did start but was getting way to much fuel. If ya kept the throttle open full it would run but if ya let it idle it would flood out again. My limited knowledge led me to believe i had a stuck needle. So... i disassembled the carb and cleaned it as best i could. After re installation I seem to have an entirely new issue.... gas is getting to the carb both plugs are sparking but no fuel seems to be getting in the cylinders so the bike will not fire (tried multiple push starts... no joy) I've tried spraying carb cleaner (no ether) in as i kick it still no fire.

Feel free to break it down barney style for me (my expertise is aircraft) Any help would be greatly appreciated

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
I think you were on the right track when you went after the float. You had too much gas and found that the float was stuck open so all of the gas was flowing past the float needle. Now it's not getting any gas. You say the carb is getting gas but I wonder if it really is.