mobrown

Jan 26, 2004
Good afternoon folks! I was wondering what kind of oil I should use for the '91c CR250 I just purchased. Some folks tell me to use the 50:1 sythetic oil while others suggest a 32:1 type of oil. The motor was completely rebuilt and runs very strong. HAs about 15 hours on it since rebuild.

Don't know what kind of oil is in the tranny but can anyone suggest any, and how often do you change the oil. I'm new to the sport again but can't wait ti ride (snowy here) but I don't suppose I'll be doing any hard core racing or anything.

'Preciate any and all recommendations

braulsy

Jan 14, 2004
I'm no expert but i run 32:1 in my kx250, and in the trans. the dealer told me to run CR tranny oil, something like gear lube i think.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
I run Redline @40:1 w/my bike jetted correctly, no spooge.. For the clutch, i use Maxima 80wt, change every 2 to 3 rides.. I just re-placed my original cluth after 2 years of being abused :eek:

WWR

Sponsoring Member
Jul 15, 2000
i run 100:1 ams-oil in my 95 cr250 and i never go through spark plugs.

First of all, running a low amount of oil is a VERY BAD THING, regardless of how "good" it is. Running the cheapest chain-saw 2-stroke oil from the nearest hardware store at 25:1 lubricates far better than any synthetic at 100:1, AND it helps seal the rings better. But I am in no way endorsing chain saw oil.

Second, spooge is primarily a product of jetting and fuel choice. There are hundreds of guys running around 25:1 oil ratio and not getting any spooge. It is the rich air/fuel ratio that causes spooge.

Mobil 1 15w50 is and excellent choice for the tranny. Typically smooths the shifting in bikes that are typically notchy shifters, and does not cause any clutch slippage. Breakdown tests show that it is one of the best oils you can use. Some are afraid that it does not have enough sheer strength, but it runs in thousands of 140hp Yammi R1's with no problems.