Aug 3, 2008
The only 2 strokes ive ever owned are weed eaters and chain saws. Every bike or quad i have ever owned was a thumper, but i have been looking at my local classifieds and seeing lots of newer 2 stroke 125s for 1400-2000. I just want to ride with my friends on the mx tracks around here and around the farm. My friend has a crf250f and he does every thing he can to steer me away from 2 strokes so i think im hearing only the bad. Should i save up and buy a 4 stroke or buy a 2 stroke and spend money on gear? btw im 16 with a decent job but the summer is only so long so my funds are limited.

Im a complete noob to 2 strokes, never even mixed gas other than for the weedeater, so any suggestions would be awesome.

What years and models should i stay away from? I dont really want anything older than 2000.
Anything helps
Thanks JAcob

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
BTW, some people have went from 2 stroke to 4 stroke and are now back on 2 strokes. Some are still on 2 strokes and most have switched to 4 stroke and are planning to stay there. Nobody is "right" - It's personal preference - don't let your friends tell you what to do.

You're wanting to ride the MX tracks or race? If you're wanting to race, you'll find the 250f more easily competitive.

If you've never ridden a 125 before, you'll be in for a surprise - perhaps both good and bad.

125s are some of the "funnest" bikes ever made (especially if you give them a bit of kick with an overbore. . . ;) . . .).

However, 125s have ZERO low end torque. Some 4 stroke guys would say that a 125 has no torque at all.

You have to learn to shift A LOT and use the clutch A LOT to keep up with the 4 strokes.