Jesse_E

Apr 30, 2010
im new to dirt bikes and just bought my kdx 2 weeks ago.

bike ran decent when i bought it, just needed some jetting to fix some bogging in 1st and 2nd. I had be riding the bike around in the field/hill behind my house and the bike lost power while I was on the throttle the one time and then didnt happen for a bit. Then a cpl days later it wouldn't run longer than a minute or 2 without cutting out while on the throttle and then wouldnt start for a while.

i've switched carbs with my friends '98 kdx 220 and makes no difference with the power loss. Before the power loss issue we had traded carbs to see that indeed the bogging in first was a jetting issue and his carb on my bike ran awesome. gas is mixed 50:1.

plug has spark. i took the stator cover off and there was a dime size little puddle of oil in the stator cover. Is that acceptable or crank seals shot? I was maybe thing it was a coil issue from reading different threads on here.

any ideas or imput on how to rule some stuff out?

sorry for the long read, any help is appreciated

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
Oil in the stator cover means the LH crank seal is shot. Quite likely the RH is shot too. This means your sucking in air, sucking in tranny oil, and loosing some compression. Time to split the cases....

Jesse_E

Apr 30, 2010
julien_d said:
Oil in the stator cover means the LH crank seal is shot. Quite likely the RH is shot too. This means your sucking in air, sucking in tranny oil, and loosing some compression. Time to split the cases....

even with that tiny amount of oil? its like a teaspoon of oil

Jesse_E

Apr 30, 2010
here is a pic

Attachments

• kdx stator cover.jpg
    kdx stator cover.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 744

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008