ckassen

Jun 26, 2007
I am new to the whole 2-stroke thing. I know nothing about carbs or jetting. I just purchased this 00 RM250 and have some questions about how the bike should run. All that I know for sure is that the bike has a stock pipe, boysen reeds, a keihin carb, and that my spark plug is as black as can be. I dont know alot about the history of the bike except that I am pretty sure that it WAS raced and then they decided to put the stock pipe back on it when it was sold, so I am thinking that they had it jetted for an aftermarket one, but not sure. Anyways, I have changed the oil in the crank and stuff but what should I do next? It seems to drive OK....but like in the low rpm's it seems to cut out alot, what would be causing this, and what should I check and/or clean? What oil/fuel ratio should I use, what octane fuel, and what brand of oil? I am not big on the whole "buy the best, highest priced stuff out there"....I just want something that wont hurt it....
Thanks
John

Mavrick70004

Oct 17, 2006
when you say black as can be do you mean the color is black or there is actually still oil on the plug when you pull it out and that is causing it to be black?

Mavrick70004

Oct 17, 2006
as for the ratio run 32:1 or 40:1 100 Octane works fine for me, say your cruisin around in 1st or second gear if you completly open it up what happens does it sputter, die, fling you off the bike as it hauls ass down the road?

mox69

Mar 26, 2007
1.) I would personally run 91+ octane pump gas. You probably don't need racing gas, unless there has been motor work done.

2.) Brand of oil is purely a opinion. Amsoil has never treated me wrong, but is a bit spendy. I would goto my local motorcycle shop and ask them, they will point you in the right direction.

3.) For mixture, do whatever the new manual you are going to buy says :). If you don't have one yet, 32:1 or 40:1 works fine. Again opinions vary on this.