2001 RM125 Problems!!

gmacd

Jul 14, 2002
My 2001 Rm125 is shagged, it boggs out in 1st and second, it spews oil out the silencer (silencer packing soaked with oil), my plug is black and oily (br8es), well at this point i know it's not the plug i just got the bike like 2 days ago and i figured he ran rich in oil, he ran 32:1 i went 40:1 but it still spits oil, just a bit less than before though, i am so sad guys, i have a few ideas as to what it may be, but i am new at this so i could be completly wrong, ok
Jetting or maybe a crank case seal? Power valve? piston ring? there isn't any scoring on the piston or cylender wall, please HELP ME! AHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Matt_H

Sep 13, 2001
Are you losing any oil when you change your tranny oil?. Are you running it hard enough for it to clean its self out?. Also the first thing I would do is change your packing in the silencer, see what you have for jets in it and lean it out it sounds like your jetting is out.

CanadianRidr

Sponsoring Member
Oct 22, 2001
One word

Jetting.....

you need proper jetting. It's time to break into the carb and start jetting it. See what others in your area are running for jets, needle positions etc. And things should clear up

gmacd

Jul 14, 2002
Ok well jetting was definatly a concern of mine, but is there any sense in changeing the packaging in my silencer before jetting, would it get oily again?? As for running it hard enough to clean itself out, i'm not because i am learning. but me and my friend figured that the problem was in it's previous oil rich mixures, cloging the machine up, so he takes it for burns and does blow out all the carbon stuff. for now i'll jet the carb and get back to youse guys, thanks so much! i got a bike three days ago and i already realize what a great community the MX world has! It kick azz, one more question, i am 200 lbs, should my RM125 be able to wheelie with me on it? thanks alot!

Rockey5000

Mod Ban
May 6, 2002