reyals

May 17, 2006
Hi, only my second post! I am somewhat new to dirt biking but have rode many street bikes, I have ridden yz250 and KX500. The 500 was my kinda power. I am 6'4 310 lbs.
Been looking for a 4 stroke and currently looking at a 2001 XR650R. It can be had for less than 3K, maybe 2700. The owner has hit hard times.
Bike has had the road kit; headlamp, brakelight, signals. Owner says he installed the kit along with the 'baja' kit, said it was opening up the carbs, jetting and a pipe mod? He claims it is over 70 HP and will run 100 mph. Also says since it's an 'R' not and 'L' it has better suspension. Is this believable info?

Is the 650 considered a reliable machine? Is it worth the money? It is in excellent condition, odometer reads 326 but that could have been added? or disconnected...tires, footpegs, handlebar, brake/cluth levers look like it's believable mileage.

I plan to ride mainly two tracks and trail, minimal jumping, and the occasional straightline drag race for fun. I am not planning on kicking anyones ass on it! I do plan to ride asphalt with it occasionally, about 5-10% of the time.

Heres a link to my first post, describing me. I was looking at a Kaw when I posted this one....but I didn't buy it, wife spent the money..............

dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=134383

think you'll have to cut and paste, forum seems to not like links?

KiwiBird

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 30, 2000
Sounds like a good choice for you. The bikes are fast and reliable and should lug you around just fine.

onedesign1

Oct 31, 2006