JohnnyKDX

Jan 17, 2005
I purchased a '05 KDX 200 a few years back, and I have had some great times with it on the trails. I'm a college student and I will be moving into a house with a garage this summer and will finally be able to bring my bike down from home. I drive a full size truck that gets 12 mpg city, and I'm considering riding the KDX to class, around town, and in between trails.

I'm trying to save money, and so far I've just found the Baja Designs kit that will run about $550 with mirrors and then $200 more for tires, which kinda defeats the money saving idea. I could go down the street and buy one of the $650 Chinese vespa knockoffs that are getting pretty popular lately, but I really don't relish the idea of riding a scooter.

I live in GA and will be calling the DMV to find details on all the legal requirements soon. I believe its running headlight and blinkers, but i am not sure. What will be the cheapest source for parts to convert my bike over? Links would be great. Anyone who has converted their KDX please share your story and how you accomplished it. Thanks guys!

UPDATE:

Did some research, got good and bad news.

First the legal crap. GA Requires: Headlight, Horn, Turn Signals, & Spedo. Getting tagged in GA can be very tricky when your bike is labeled "Off Road Use Only" from manufacturer and requires some shmoozing of DMV folks. This route is hit or miss at best. Your remaining option is getting tagged out of state and transferring. I'll try my luck and give an update.