vette747

Sep 17, 2005
Help Needed: 2010 YZ 450 Oil Leak!

I found oil on my right boot last evening after riding. I looked at the bike and found that it was leaking oil from an small hole in the cylinder head. See pic. Any one can tell me what could be the problem?

I have only 12.9 hours on it. I made oil and filter change after brake-in and every 3 hours.

I know that 2009 has similar hole.

Bike was still running great and oil level was ok.

I have been riding YZ 250 2 stroke for the last 10 years. Wanted to make the switch when the 450 would be injection. But I was not expecting problem that fast...

Anyway, if someone could tell me more, that would really be appreciated.

Attachments

• YZ 450 2010 LeakSmall.JPG
    YZ 450 2010 LeakSmall.JPG
    47.7 KB · Views: 1,416
Last edited:

jsantapau

Nov 10, 2008
that hole looks extremely familiar with 2004 wr450and my old 98 400, it is a drain hole for the spark plug well. oil leaking out that hole is not your problem, oil filling up the spark plug well is, my guess would be the valve cover gasket, atleast for what I owned.

vette747

Sep 17, 2005
jsantapau said:
that hole looks extremely familiar with 2004 wr450and my old 98 400, it is a drain hole for the spark plug well. oil leaking out that hole is not your problem, oil filling up the spark plug well is, my guess would be the valve cover gasket, atleast for what I owned.

Thanks a lot Sir. Your the man!

After I saw your post, I went in the garage. Removed the tank and found that the spark plug cap was kind of greasy when I removed it. I also saw a little bit of oil at the bottom on the well, if I can call it this way. I made sure the spark plug was properly tightened. Then I put some windshield washer in the hole. The blue stuff came right out of the (not mystery anymore) hole. I saw that the head gasket had a flat spot. I removed the head cover and found the damaged seal around the spark plug hole.