250cc Dirt Bike Suggestions Please.

DMcCoy

Sep 24, 2009
I'm a 28yr old male, been riding on the street for about 4 years now. Switched from sportbikes to my DRZ400sm this past year and love it. Sold my sport bike and track bike and now after getting a tast of some motard offroad exploring action I want to get a dedicated dirt bike.

1) your physical size, I'm 5'11 about 165.
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? I am a dirt newbie so not really sure but I imagine I will be aggressive. With the DRZ400SM I spend alot of time exploring urban hooligan spots and jumping things....
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? I'm not really sure, I would like to do some MX but I have a bum knee so not sure how much I can do...I've never ridden dirt before other than exploring light stuff on my SM... I would like to ride some trails and at least jump some smaller stuff...
4) Do you have any riding experience? Been riding on the street for about 4 years, I get in some track days throughout the year also
5) Do you think you will race ? nope
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? I will do all my own maintenance and work. I am mechanically inclined.
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? This is what is confusing me. I have been told don't get a 2 stroke because of the power delivery... but I'm mostly concerned with maintenance and engine rebuilding and cost. From what I gather a 2 stroke is cheaper to maintain and rebuild compared to a 4 stroke? NOt sure how often either need rebuilding.... cost is an important factor.
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? I'm going to be buying used and will order my parts online so this doens't really matter to me.
9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike? I would like to buy a used bike under 2k$ dollars.
10) Do you live in California? Nope

11) Your age? 28