250f or CR125. Decisions, decisions...

TriPower

Apr 3, 2001
Hi All,
This is my first time on your forum, and it looks great! I'm 32, been out of MX for around 6 years, and planning a return very soon. My question is a little different than most of the posts I've seen here (250F vs. XXXX). I'm more concerned with the feel of the 250f than how powerful it is. During the 80's and early 90's, I went through an 85 CR500 and a variety of 86-91 250's, and then in '93 I bought a new CR125. I fell in love with the lightweight feel of a 125. Even though I'm 5'11, 190lbs, I could ride just as fast as I could on a 250, but for longer. Most of the riding areas in my neck of the woods aren't very spacious, so getting outrun by bigger engines was never a problem. I also found that when I did have a near crash on the track, it was much easier to save it with the 125.

I'm shopping for a new bike, and the reviews of the 250f sure are compelling. I'm going down to the local dealership tonight to check out both the CR125 and YZ250f. I've never ridden a 4 stroke MXer, so this is all new to me.

CR125 pluses: Light weight, hard charging powerband (I prefer high rpm to torque), Honda quality (my '93 was bulletproof), $1000 less OTD, $300 Honda rebate. Starts first time every time.

YZ250f pluses: Better suspension, more horses, 4 stroke power (although I've never actually tried it). It also looks like I could wind up kick starting the YZ by the side of the track a lot

I'd also like to ride these bikes in the woods that connect to my property from time to time. Which exhaust note is less offensive to the nieghborhood?

So what's the real deal? Does the 250f feel like a really fast 125, or is it a 250 type machine that happens to be legal in the 125 class?

Thanks, and sorry for the novel!

-Joe

------------------

Pumpkinhead

Mar 6, 2001
If you do a combination of woods and MX riding...you should not overlook a KTM ??? MXC.

Best of both worlds.
smile.gif

------------------