David Vogt

Jul 26, 2001
New to DRN. I am really considering a 380 or 300. I have no KTM experience. Anybody out west with some advice? I ride it all. MX to National Enduros, local desert, Tecate HS. I want a very versatile scooter.

Buckholz

Mar 15, 2000
Unless you are a Fatboy like me, the 300exc is the most versatile bike out there.

I'm 230lbs, an A enduro and desert expert, on my second 380exc, coming from KX500's and YZ250WRs.
Both buddies are A enduro, desert experts, about 180 lbs, on 300exc's. One routinely beats AA riders at enduros. He's moving down to a 250exc this fall...

Darryl Folks runs a 300mxc at his dad's BITD races, and usually finishes top 10 running against open bikes...

Buy the 300mxc or exc...

David Vogt

Jul 26, 2001
Unfortunately I am a fatboy. 200 lbs. What is the difference in power the 380 makes vs. the 300? I don't mean numbers, but more the torque and revability feel of the motor. I'm coming off a fully tweaked Pro Circuit KX 250. Does the 380 make that much more power?

Buckholz

Mar 15, 2000
David, a fully tweaked jap 250 is probably close to a 300. The 380 has a much better bottom end and midrage, upper about the same.

Both my XR650R and my KTM380 make about 49hp. The 300 is probably mid to high 40's. A REALLY good running 250 is mid 40's.

Reliablity of the 300 and 380 are phenominal compared to hopped up 250's. I have had less problems with my 380 than my old KX500....

The amazing thing is buy it, skid plate and pipe protector it, and race it.
You might add a strg damper and or a set of fatboy springs, but everything else is race ready. I run bark buster on stock AL bars. In the desert, I'd run protapers.

David Vogt

Jul 26, 2001