whizzit

Feb 6, 2004
Theres a 1982 CR250 for sale for $1600 CAD. I'm not really excited that its 20 years old because I thought it might be a bit difficult getting parts for it. I just want to know if it would be hard or not getting parts for it.

I assume its in running condition, but I haven't looked at it yet, might this weekend. As I said I'm not very interested in getting it, but if getting parts for it won't be a big problem I might consider buying it to bomb around on trails and such.

If you think I should go for it (I'd try to get it cheaper) I'm 6'1", 160 lbs, and I'm 18 and have riden quads before. Thanks for the help.

OnAnySunday

Big Pig
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 20, 2000
lost in the deserts of NM
I'm no expert, and prices do vary from place to place, but $1600 seems a bit steep for an '82 CR.
Unless it's one very , very, cherry bike!
You can get into something a bit newer for not much more $$$$.
(oh, gawd! did I actually say that????) :ohmy:
I would think that bike should be more around $400 to mebbe like $800.
But i AM a cheap @$$.
If you decide to go for it, check for parts FIRST.
Go to your friendly neighborhood Honda dealer and quiz him about some of the more important parts.
Pistons, rings, gaskets, bearings, etc.
If he mentions this word.......OBSOLETE........ its best to stay away.
Sad, but true.

here's a start on your parts search....
http://www.vintageiron.com/

http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Track/4248/

http://www.honda-elsinore.com/hondaads/index.php

whizzit

Feb 6, 2004
Thanks for the help.

I'll check with the honda dealer in town. As for the price, yea I'd want to get it cheaper. I'm still trying to get all the money I can to get a new truck.

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 16, 2002
If you are buying it for the stated reasons stay clear!! Bikes that old DEFINITLY have parts issues!!
Try to stay within a ten year old range if you can. Most bike shops (Michigan anyways) wont touch anything older then 10 for a reason!!!
My 2 cents