mikebyz

Apr 25, 2006
Hey, My name is Mike and I'm a Newbie. I have a 99 yzf400 with a 'rebuild' carb, starts great, I have that routine down. But the bike is loosing power when accelerating, sounds like porky pig (stuttering and sputtering). D&E Yamaha said to pull the choke (richen up the mix, to see if it was jetting??) to see if the problem would go away, and it didn't. Their next suggestion was that the timing was off, maybe a valve out of adjustment.
The bike idles great. when not under load, I can blip the throttle and it sounds great. Air filter is in good shape, I have yet to pull the plug, but I don't think that the plug is the main issue.

Any suggestions?

B

biglou

I think the symptoms would be the same at idle, but is it possible the slide is in the carb upside down? I've heard it's easy to do by mistake. Outside of that, valve clearance, timing, air leak, clogged passage in the carb...

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
mikebyz said:
But the bike is loosing power when accelerating, sounds like porky pig (stuttering and sputtering).QUOTE]

Mike.

Other than what biglou suggested check your hot start button.

Make sure the rubber boot under the hot start button is seated all the way down. If it is not seated, it will hold the hot start button open a little bit causing the condition you described. If the boot is seated then check the hot start valve itself. Remove the hot start valve and inspect the rubber seal on the end of the plunger for damage.

Just my $ .02

mikebyz

Apr 25, 2006
Biglou - dumb question - to check the slide in the carb, pull the carb and just look (also reference the manual)? or Is there another way without removing the carb?

Mike

B

biglou