tx246

~SPONSOR~
May 8, 2001
thats right i did a mini triathalon and had kicka$$ time. i competed in this event last year with the wife but she wouldnt bite for this years event. i called a friend from high school and she said yes. we were to compete as a co-ed team in this 18.5 mile event. there were three disiplines. 4 miles by canoe followed by a 2.5 mile run and finally a 12 mile mtb portion.

last year i did this triathalon as a finale to all of the rehab i was doing as a result of an mx injury(ruptured achilles). last yrs goal was to finish and we did with a time of 3h36m. we took third in coed but then again there were only three teams. we finished 29th out of 32teams in the overall standings.

this year i started training in november to get a good mileage base. ive always had endurance but struggled with speed. it wasnt long before i was up to 7 mile runs albeit at a 10min miles. i put time on the bike and towards race day i spent time in the kayak working out my arms.

race day was satuday with clouds and wind in the forcast. stephanie(my new teammate) got to the house at 5 am and we made our way to race registration. we set up our bikes and equipment in the transition area. just like on tv!! :laugh: we loaded up in the event van to take us to the starting point 4 miles up river. steph was getting nervous and i was getting excitied. the wife and son(video cameraman) showed up at the starting line to see us off.