Alpinestars Vector Boot Review By Eric Gorr

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas
Alpinestars Vector Boot Review
Price (msrp): $240.00

Eric Gorr's Review

When I was an editor for Dirt Rider Magazine answering questions for the Ask Dr. Dirt column, one of the most popular questions was “where can I find a boot to fit my calves”. Being a lanky Swede with skinny legs I couldn’t relate. I wondered how big are these peoples’ calves anyways, and why there were so many. So I turned the tables and asked them questions, asking for physical dimensions of their calves so I could compile the data and forward it to the boot manufacturers. I also asked these guys what they were doing right now to protect their feet or modifications to their conventional boots. Well as you can expect there were a myriad of ideas ranging from duct tape to zip ties, to hoes clamps and re-mounted top buckles, and even one guy who just cut the boots off, half way up his massive calve.

vector_blue.jpg

While I was collecting info on boots people offered other comments like is there a boot that has a smooth tip, or a curvature, and a replacement sole or high wear spot. When I pulled the VECTOR boots out of the box I started to chuckle with glee. Some smart Italian guy finally started listening to Americans and built an interesting new boot design.

I couldn’t find anything that I disliked about the VECTOR boot, so lets look at the good stuff! My last set of Apline Stars took a full year to break in because of the stiffness. The VECTOR is comprised of several sections stitched together to enable movement without having to be broken in, which is good because motocross is painful enough without having to suffer through the break-in period.