Anyone care to help a newbie out?

JoelS

Aug 4, 2003
Hey everyone! I'm new to dirtrider and somewhat new to riding. I used to have a '96 Yamaha TR 180 that needed much work so I got rid of it before I killed myself riding it. I came into some cash recently and picked up a 2003 XR250. I had hoped that buying a new bike would give me at least some time to ride without worrying about it running right. Off the bat, I'm having trouble with plugs fouling. A new plug will give me a great start and a good ride, but the next time I go to fire it up I find the plug fouled. I've been reading about having the bike jetted right, but have no clue what that means. At this point, I don't feel real comfortable tearing into the carburetor especially on a new bike. I'd rather not run the risk of messing something up. Anything I can do to alleviate this problem? I appreciate any help with this.

markthomps

Sponsoring Member
May 27, 2000
Joel: Something here is wrong as this is not a bike that fouls plugs, especially one this new. Are you sure you have the choke OFF when riding? Does it smoke when you're riding (it shouldn't)? Is this bike stock or has it been modified in some way (pipe, carb, engine work?).

JoelS

Aug 4, 2003
Mark, it's completely stock, choke is off when running and no smoke. My first start was extremely hard, but it eventually cranked. I thought it might be typical of a new bike that hadn't been broken in. I pulled the plug and found it fouled. Not terribly, but the electrodes were black and even the first thread was. I replaced it with a new plug, rode some (maybe five minutes) and then dumped it. It wouldn't restart after several cranks. I pulled the plug and sure enough, fouled again. I'm stumped. When it runs, it runs great.

Layton

~SPONSOR~
Aug 2, 2000
I would take that bike back to the dealer. XR Hondas are very reliable and don't normally have the problem you are describing.