Bars "don't look right"

ChuckyBoy

~SPONSOR~
May 2, 2002
Hi everyone,

I saw on a previuos post where Canyncarvr said, I'm going to paraphrase, "if the bars just don't look right, the busings probaly need to be reset".

Well, my bars don't look right and I was wondering how to reset the bushings.

Along the same lines, I'd like to upgrade to some pro tapers. Would y'all recommend going with new bar and triple clamps or just bolt on the oversize bar clamp adapters onto the existing triple clamp? The adapters would raise my bars about 3/4 of an inch right?

I'm a novice bike mechanic so please forgive if I didn't use the right terminology.

Thanks for your help,
Chuck

Glitch

~SPONSOR~
Dec 3, 2001
First you have to figure out if your bars are bent or if your tripleclamps are out of wack. Just try looking at your bars, not seeing if they are straight with wheel, but see if they are straight with the bar clamps. If they look bent, just replace them. If they dont look bent, then line up the bars with wheel and see if they look out of wack. If they do, loosen the nut that holds the upper and lower triple clamps together. Then loosen the triple clamp bolts that hold the forks in place. Next, retighten the triple clamp bolts, then the nut that holds the upper and lower together. I think that this is a way to reset the tripleclamps.

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
IF the bushings are tweaked, the bars will look bent when compared with the bar clamps.

If you don't have a single piece top clamp, the chances of the bushings being tweaked are excellent. Takes a few minutes to resolve that, then you won't have that (if it WAS an issue) to figure into what don't look right.