n8MX

Mar 27, 2001
Well, I went to an MX race track for the first time today for practice (I've been riding a practice track for three years)... I had fun but shortly before I was going to leave, I came out of a corner squirelly, started to slide out, then highsided (I think that's what happened). Anyway, the end result is that my bars got badly bent, and I got a little bruised up.

The bars were on the bike when I got it, so I'm not sure what brand they are. They are steel bars with a welded crossbar. I had been wanting new ones because I couldn't rotate the bars as far forward as I wanted to (due to limited clearance between crossbar/crossbar pad and bolts/triple clamp when rotated farther forward). It looks like I have a good excuse to buy bars now...

So tonight I was looking at new bars from MXsouth. I was seeing two basic types of 7/8" bars - steel w/ welded crossbar and aluminum w/ clamped crossbar (like Renthals). The steel ones run about 17-25, and the aluminum bars are about 50 on up. Since I'm low on money, I'm really leaning towards the steel bars (it looked like there was more vertical height between the crossbar and main bar so rotating them forward should be easier). But since they're so much cheaper, it seems like there obviously must be problems with them... the aluminum bars claim to absorb vibration and bumps more - is the difference significant? Are there other serious issues?

The other question I have is regarding bends... there are many to choose from. Since they are all 7/8" they will all fit, right? It seems like each brand has it's own high and low bend. Since I ride a KX250, I was thinking of the KX High's since I like the bars pretty high and forward - would some of the other brand's bends be better for this?

Thanks,
Andy

Studboy

Thinks he can ride
Dec 2, 2001