kx2000

Apr 6, 2005
hey, ive got a 2000 kx250 that looks brand new and i would like to keep it that way. i just got it and got it dirty yesterday (made me sick lol) anyway - just wondering what you guys think are the best method of keeping these bad boys clean....what to use, (plastics, metals?) and whats the best way to get caked on dirt off of my pipe - (keep in mind - it is a pro circuit works pipe; its black so im guessing its paint and dont want to end up taking the paint off) well thanks for any info! sorry if this is a repost but im a newb, i'll get better i promise. :laugh:

gwcrim

~SPONSOR~
Oct 3, 2002
kx2000 said:
hey, ive got a 2000 kx250 that looks brand new and i would like to keep it that way. i just got it and got it dirty yesterday (made me sick lol)

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Hence the name DIRTbike.

kx2000

Apr 6, 2005
i know its gonna get dirty and thats great, but that doesnt mean it needs to stay that way. this isnt my first bike, i know they get dirty.

MY KDX 220 R

Feb 9, 2005
I never use a pressure washer, but that is my preference. Wallmart sells a product called "Super clean"? Made by Castrol in a purple jug, dilute approx 3 - 1 and use a trigger spray bottle after you have sprayed most of the chunks off with a hose pipe.
Typically I don't leave it sitting on the bike for longer than 5 minutes, rinse off thoroughly and repeat if needed, you will seldom need to do more than that if you keep up with it, ie after each ride / weekend.
When all done and nice and dry ( leaf blower ) spray a nice film of WD 40 and then set about lubing, cleaning filters etc. Always nice to work on a clean bike and looks good in the garage.
Enjoy

truespode

Moderator / Wheelie King
Jun 30, 1999
tyesai said:
I hit almost everything with wd 40 after I wash it, it disperses the water.

Me too.

I rarely use a pressure washer.

Usually I take an old tire iron and scrape off the thick mud if necessary from the fenders, skid plate and foot pegs.