Bike for new 22yo rider

Wilco112

Jul 25, 2006
Hey all. I'm brand new to dirt bikes and need your advice. I've never had any experience really before but always sort of had an interest. I bit the bullet and went to the MSF Dirtbike School around me for the one day introduction. It was definitely awkward at first, but everyone was pretty forgiving. I came away with a good feeling. I think I'd like to go ahead and get started with my own used bike and see where it goes from there.

1)size: a hair over 5'10"-- right at 200lb

2) How physical / aggressive are you ?: just starting out -- so not too aggressive I guess--we'll have to see where I go

3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ?????
Trails for now--screwing around with some friends who have land. I might be interested in going to the track -- but I've got a lot to learn before that.

4) Do you have any riding experience?
MSF dirtbike school only

5) Do you think you will race ?
I'm no where near that right now--but hey maybe in the future if I get better? I'm not sure right now.

6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?

I consider myself pretty handy but I'd need help for major work

7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?

I've heard good things about Yamaha and Honda. I've heard 4 stroke recommended for new people but interested in what others have to say.

8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
Yeah I've got a Yamaha and Honda dealer pretty close by--there's a Suzuki dealer not too far away too.

9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike?
I'm fortunate enough to have some money to work with (working hard this summer) -- Since I'm just starting out I don't think i want to lay out more than $3k including safety gear which I don't have right now. I could spend more if I really thought it was worth it