DannyBeavis

Sep 21, 2005
i have a 1991 kdx 250 and the bike has recently had the ring changed and has had the piston cleaned because the bike bogged out just after i hit the powerband and smoked heavily. As it turned out the silencer needed repacking as it was clogged with oil. The bike no longer smokes as heavily but still bogs out after i hit the powerband. I was reading a previous thread which said the bike needed rejetting. If this is the case could someone tell me how i need mine jetted and how to do it please as i am a novice.
The bike has the stock silencer and expansion pipe, as well as the snorkel still on the filter.
Any help will be greatly appreciated thanks.

kdx220freak

Registered
Aug 23, 2005
well first off jetting is not easy if you have never done it before. but once you have done it, it is easy. FIrst make sure your airfiler is very very clean, or your jetting will be off. Then if seems like you need to lean your main jet up. Say you have a 155 in now i would try a 150 and see what it does. Do you know what jetts you have in the bike now and what is your elevation and temp??

DannyBeavis

Sep 21, 2005
I have absolutely no idea, but i dont think the jetting will have been changed in the bikes lifetime, as the person who owned it before me had it imported and prior to that it was used on the road. The air filter is absolutely filthy will that make a difference? and do you think it is because of this the bike is bogging out or is it common to all kdx's

kdx220freak

Registered
Aug 23, 2005