Brand New 2005 RM250 Run-In but won't rev

Aug 29, 2005
Hi I,m pretty much a novice to motocross but I'm a qualified car mechanic so I should grasp technical stuff ok.

The problem is I've bought a 2005 Suzuki RM250, ran it in for two hours been riding it for a further 3 hours but am not impressed.

The motor just doesn't want to rev out, it's got a really good bottom end pull that comes on power mid-range then it's like the rpm is limited, no matter 1/2 or full throttle the bike won't rev.

I have a Kawasaki KX125 2001 also that is stock and I got my father to ride the RM250 flat-out down a dirt road and I sailed past him on my KX125! That can't be right!!

The RM250 won't go any more than what seems like 40-50 mph. My KX125 will rev forever it just keeps pulling, where the RM250 justs revs to the same speed.

Any help would be most appreciated as the reason I bought the RM250 is to go faster than on my 125, so I'm kinda regretting buying it at the mo, but any help would be most appreciated. The plug porcelain is darkish brown with 20% black spot on. It ticks over fine and upto mid throttle fine maybe a little lumpy of the starting off but good pull to 1/2 throttle then won't go any more, no misfires, just fixed engine note.

Many Thanks Ashley.

kevinmfaust

Oct 27, 2003
I would start with the easy stuff first. Check that when you are at WOT the slide in the carb is full open. New plug. Plug cap is on tight. Clean air filter, not too much oil on it. Pipe has no clogs, muffler has no clogs. Check the timing. Check that trere is no wacked out main jet.......etc. Good luck. let us know.
Kevin

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
Make sure the power valve is working properly and the spring tension isn't too tight. If it doen't open it will have no top end at all. All the info you need should be in the manual.

Aug 29, 2005