Whoops

Jun 19, 2000
Broken Collar Bone, Recovery?

Yesterday was not a good day. I did my impersonation of RC at the first Anaheim SX, including getting run over and pinned under the other guy's bike. Unfortunately, that's where the impersonation ended since RC didn't break and I did.

Since this is my first broken collar bone I'm looking for advise on the healing process. The ER doctor didn't say much other than see an othopedic surgeon on Monday and handed me broken collar bone FAQ. The faq says it takes about six weeks to heal but, I'd welcome advice from fellow dirt riders on the healing and rehabilitation process.

Whoops

Last edited:

MCMAN56

Sep 5, 2000
I broke my collar bone a few years ago. The doc said 6 weeks to heal and then six more weeks off of the bike to avoid a rebreak. That is just what I did? I wore a sling for about the first four weeks. After the six week heal, I started lifting weights. I started light and at first benches really hurt the collar bone area. It was probably near 100% by the time the second two weeks were up.

RICKLAMBERT

Jun 3, 2001
I broke my collarbone in two places a couple yrs ago as well. They gave me a figure of 8 to wear & said wait 6 weeks b4 riding again. I did and 8 weeks after the break, i fell over in a corner, landing on my elbow, and broke it again !! My advise is to take it slow when you return to make sure everything has had time to heal properly

Whoops

Jun 19, 2000
Thanks for the replys. Looks like I need a short term hobby.

Mike, You don't get to whine about your owie when you do a search:o

I'll see my doctor tomorrow.

Whoops

TrackMaster

Mar 15, 2001
Originally posted by Whoops
Mike, You don't get to whine about your owie when you do a search:o

lol

my new best friend was SLEEP when I broke mine about 8 weeks ago. It hurt so bad for the first couple weeks, the figure 8 brace really rubs the bones together and that is painful...